The Spook’s Apprentice by Joseph Delaney

The Wardstone Chronicles Challenge
The Spook's Apprentice: Book 1 - The Wardstone Chronicles 1

The Spook’s Apprenticeis the first book in The Wardstone Chronicles. I am taking part in a challenge set by the publisher to read and review the first eleven books in the series before the film Seventh Son comes out. So, here is my first review.
First up, I have to say how much I enjoyed reading The Spook’s Apprentice. These books have been on my radar for a while, so I was thrilled to be a given a nudge to get on and read them. Thomas is the seventh son of a seventh son, so that makes him special. He has the potential to become a Spook, which is a kind of wise man able to deal with witches and ghosts and other things that go bump in the night. It’s a dangerous and lonely job, but Tom doesn’t have many other options. His mum is certain that he can and must do the job. She has a touch of something special about her too.
So, Thomas leaves home with his few belongings and the Spook to start his new life. His trials begin immediately; to prove his worth he has to spend the night in a haunted house. Although Tom doesn’t know it, everything he does with the Spook is a learning experience. He has to stay alert all the time, because who knows when the crucial piece of information that will save a life will be imparted.
Thomas faces lots of small tests, and one of things I liked most about him is that he makes mistakes. He’s normal in that respect; he has to own up to and fix his own errors just like everyone else. However, when the Spook is called away to deal with some bad witch business, Thomas might have made one mistake too many. Mother Malkin, a very powerful and evil witch, is ready to cause a great deal of trouble. It’s time for Thomas to discover how well he has learnt his lessons, and how far he can trust his friend Alice.
The Spook’s Apprentice is very exciting and a bit scary at times. I loved learning about ghasts (sort of ghosts) and boggarts, and thought the witches were really nasty. I thought it was a brilliant story, and I’m looking forward to reading the second part, The Spook’s Curse. My thanks to the publisher for sending me a copy to read and review. The first eleven books in the series are available now.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.